A Knitter Giggles in the Tub

If you’ve read this blog for a long time, then you’ll know that one of my classic methods of destressing, my first go to for a need to relax, is something as simple as soaking in the tub with my collection of “Calvin and Hobbes.” I feel warm, I giggle, I smile with enjoyment. For a good half hour, the rest of the world doesn’t exist. Nothing happens. It all stops. The madness that is the world, the things you read, the things you hear, the things people say are substituted by a boy and his pal tiger and their amazing imagination.

And it dawned on me that I’ve been would up rather tight lately. The usual pressures that plaque many of us were on my mind. And just as I started getting snappy and cranky, I realized I hadn’t soaked in the tub in an awfully long time. So, there it was, the middle of the day, in the middle of things that needed to be tended to, walking away for and turning on the faucet, peering through my bookcase (“FOUND IT!”), and shredding my clothes. Phone was turned off and place in the desk drawer. Towel in hand I headed for the suds.

AHHHHHH……the only thing that had changed was that I need glasses now to read 🙂 But, it all did exactly what it was supposed to do. It got me out of my head for a moment. It warmed my bones. It made me laugh and consider you don’t need to hit a hillside filled with daisies to find truly peaceful moments. When all was done, I dried off, emptied the tub, put my clothes back on, came back to whatever crisis needed to be dealt with and said with the most genuine smile, “I feel better.”

Try it! Don’t go in the tub with a tome that would cause you to think and reflect. Go in there, close the door with something ridiculous to read (NO DEVICES!), and enjoy yourself in the warming womb like safety of peace.

We have a few in our shop that need good homes. And we need to find them homes VERY soon. Be sure to check them out. Phillip would LOVE for you to have his latest Strange Friend. That would truly mean a lot to him.

Be sure to check out our shop!

If  you like this blog and would like to help us keep it going, please donate. Every dollar helps! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

