We Have Cause to Celebrate

We have reason to celebrate tonight. I signed my first book contract. If some of you have not heard, two of my books, “Mad Man Knitting (or) The Waiter and the Fly,” and my children’s book, “The Teddy Bear That Saved Me,” are both being published by a wonderful little publishing house in France….translated into French. Now, how cool is that? How COOL is that? These are the kind of days that authors dream about. New eyes get to read my work, the barriers of language broken so that what little things I have to say may be seen by an entirely new and eager audience.

We’ve been working a few months on this deal. (yes, and people ask, who is this “we” you often discuss? Well, obviously YOU and me! We’ve been on this journey together for YEARS. You are solidly with me in everything I do.) The negotiations were easy, swift, wonderful and full of enthusiasm. The publisher and I developed a grand relationship that leans itself toward success. She said, “I picked you because I LOVE how you self promote yourself.”

So, we received our advance today. Now, as I’ve said on facebook, don’t think we’re gazillionairs now 🙂 Now the advance is the standard for a first time author for a house. It is very fair. But, once those books are released in France, they could have a tremendous impact on my career. Other countries may come forth. AMERICAN publishers may come calling. It’s all decidedly, a wonderful WONDERFUL arrangement and a great opportunity.

And so, in decidedly Gregory and Phillip fashion, we’re celebrating tonight with a home cooked meal. Meatloaf, mashed potatoes and peas. Because I feel a sense of coming comfort, and I wanted a celebratory dinner that beautifully defined comfort. 🙂

Look at this journey we’ve taken. When you found me, I was a homeless man living in the woods, knitting one teddy bear just to feed myself. How far we’ve come….

…and I’m looking forward to seeing how far we’ll go. 🙂

 

26 comments

  1. Oh, Gregory that’s the very best news yet! May it be the first of many salubrious contracts, agreements, and arrangements that you make on this mind-blowing journey!

  2. Oh my, I am SO excited for you! Congratulations doesn’t seem like a strong enough sentiment. What a huge milestone, and I’m sure it’ll be just the beginning, like you said. Woot woot!

  3. Congratulations, dear! You are a fine example of what a person can achieve against all odds! Good luck with everything!

  4. Congratulations! A close friend is an author, and I’ve seen how challenging it can be, and how initial advances aren’t as much as I’d expect them to be… But this could be the start to something wonderful!

  5. What great good news! I hope this is the start of more good things coming your way.

    meatloaf and mashed potatoes and peas are comfort food in my house, too.

  6. I am so pleased for you. There is a commercial out now that shows two people galloping full tilt on a horse down a race course and the voice over says, “you know, that feeling”. I know you are walking on cloud on cloud 9. Keep on keeping on. xxxooosara

  7. Congratulations!

    My copy of “The Teddy Bear” resurfaced this past week when we were cleaning the house. So happy to be able to reunite it with my full collection of your animals, the extra bears, and Phillip’s Strange Friend! Also, one bear has been set aside for a baby gift for a dear friend who is expecting.

  8. OMG! I am so happy for you. You’ve worked hard for this and now it’s paying off. BTW I’m on my way over for dinner! Lol It looks so good. Congratulations!!!

  9. Hello Gregory – I found you through your video on how to sew the eyes and nose on your teddy bear. Despite the blurriness of the video, I could see what you were doing, and liked your end result so much, I unpicked the eyes and nose I had done on my knitted rabbit and used your technique. From there, I went to your video and saw your wonderful news!
    Thanks, Congratulations, and very best wishes !!!

Leave a Reply

