A Very Surprising Ravelry Thread

There has been so much going on in my little world. If you saw the simple post I wrote a few hours ago, I wrote about comfort needed when your heart is bruised. And to be truthful, the last couple of days my heart has felt really hurt. I try to remind Phillip that the more people know you, the more they hate you. Having your face and name out in the internet can be dangerous. People will want to hurt you for no other reason than they don’t want to see you succeed. It is a sad part of the territory, but there you have it. If you want to realize your dreams, you’ll have to combat people that want to shred you, tear you down, based usually on their own insecurities. They aren’t living their own dreams, so they’d like to rob you of yours.

If you have followed this blog for a while you have seen how people can come at me hard, come at me fast, and use lies to perpetuate a viral desire to destroy. The same ones that denounce bullying and demand inclusiveness are the first to begin bullying and pushing people out. They utilize the wicked habit of mobilizing people with emotions, rather than facts, in order to destroy someone they have never met, never knew before, never even had dealings with, in order to obtain some false sense of power. They control who lives and dies. Yes, I’ll say it. Many of the same ones that rescued me from homelessness were the same ones that decided I was a conservative, getting too much attention, wasn’t following the rules of identity, and should therefore, be put back in the “gutters where we found him.”

I get to see where traffic comes from on this blog. And I large amount of traffic was coming from Ravelry, which always makes me nervous. Ravelry threads are notorious for belittling and bullying. You’ve seen many of them. So, I clicked on the link to read the thread, waiting for another one of those pointed finger links that screams, “There’s the guy! HIM! GET RID OF HIM!!!!”

I was surprised. Let me rephrase that. I was surprised to the point of tears. It was a thread started about my writing….about how I should win some sort of journalism award for my hurricane pieces. About how my books were such a thrill to read, how people were so happy to see me finally (after all of this PAIN) finally begin to reach my dream.

I needed that. I really did. When you think the world is totally against you, when the loud ones throw temper tantrums demanding you be destroyed, when you think you’re ready to pack it in and walk away, you see how many people DO appreciate you and enjoy your work. I really REALLY needed to read their comments, how they were discussing my books with absolute enjoyment. (I’m going to start crying again if I’m not careful).

So, if you’re reading this post direct from the thread on Ravelry, I can’t thank you enough. You made a bruised heart turning bitter, beat with more of the tenderness he is accustomed to. Thank you SO much.

Gregory

If you appreciate the writing in this blog and would like for it to continue, please feel free to donate. Every dollar helps and we certainly do appreciate it! Or you can buy a pdf copy of one of my books in our shop. 

 

14 comments

  1. I first heard about you on Ravelry a couple of years ago, bought your teddy bear pattern and started following you on FB. Ravellers are, on the whole, a nice bunch of people, at least as far as I have seen. I am sorry you have come across the other sort. I am sure most of us continue to wish you well.

  2. I wanted to let you know that I gifted one of your bears to a friend having a baby (gave it to her at her baby shower last month), and she loved it. It was the darling red one. Thank you for all you do!

  3. Love your writing. You inspire so many folks to keep putting one foot in front of the other, and viola, we’re moving AHEAD instead of back.
    hugs from Wilno

  4. Please keep in mind that the LOUD ones are the minority. They are like locusts. Alone, they can do no harm, but they never show up alone. They have to have their gang members for support, so to make sure everybody hears their lies and half truths. They are cowards who would like nothing more than to destroy everybody who thinks differently than they do, or has success where they fail. I love your writing, I love how you pour every ounce of yourself into everything you do. You remind me NOT to give up on humanity. You remind me why I do the things I do for all of those that are near and dear to me. I would like for you to remember that the quiet ones are still the majority, who might not comment on everything they see, but leave a smiley, a heart or a like. Those are the ones you inspire and they outnumber the haters at least 50 to one. So next time you have a hater, “listen” to the quiet ones and rest assured that you can scroll by those hateful comments and forget about them. You are better than that.

  5. In Australia we call it the “tall poppy syndrome”. Criticize the winner in sport or a politician or whatever to bring them down to their own level because they are never go to be anywhere near a winner, no matter what But don’t give them oxygen by noting what they say and with a bit of luck they’ll dry up and blow away.The have nots will always rail against the haves whether it is money or health or serenity. Best of luck to you, love your blog and best wishes to Phillip also.xxx Ele

  6. Hey Gregory,

    Thanks so much for your post. I have been following you for some time after you were featured on one of my friends blogs. I really love your honest approach to writing but mostly for the way you have a “get it done” attitude. All politics and beliefs aside I truly believe as a knitter we can come together in the spirit of our craft. Humanity is showing empathy and even if you may not agree with someone doesn’t mean you can’t empathize or say “I see you”. I’m so happy that the ravelry community has been super awesome! At the end of the day we all just want to be heard and I’m so happy to follow your blog- it brings me joy even in moments of sorrow. Keep on keepin on and much love :). Ps those bears are on point!

  7. I am new to your work – through this Ravelry thread in fact! I think a man who knits is unusual, but a man who not only knits teddy bears but has the courage to share them with the world is inspiring. Perhaps if these trolls spent some time improving their own lives they wouldn’t feel so jealous of others fulfilling their dreams. ♡

  8. Once again, thank you for your thoughtfulness, patience, compassion, ability to express what can happen if we tune in to ourselves and the universe in quiet time, and determination to take the high road in the face of adversity. I also think you should win some kind of award for your writing. Keep on keepin’ on.

  9. I have never met you, but I love you. You strike a chord in my heart and in some ways I relate to you. One day when I get ahead enough, I plan on purchasing one of your bears. I could knit one myself, but I would rather I had one knitted with love by you.
    I happen to own your first book. LOVE IT!
    Stay strong- some of us love you more than you know.😚

Leave a Reply

