Clergy

Phillip says to me, “Let’s start a rock band.”

“Beg your pardon.”

“Your voice, my instruments. I think we could do it. You could be my Nico.”

Then he says, “I’m pulling out my Gugin….”

I hope you are as wide eyed as I was when hearing that. “Pulling out your what?”

A Gugin is a beautiful stringed instrument from China. Phillip has some of the most fascinating instruments. Truth be told. He has a tons of them. Multiple music makers. He has a weird whistle that sounds tribal. A drum that looks sensual. He has all sorts of fun things. No guitars, no banjos….But, he does have a Gugin.

He sits me down in his new studio. Yes! We have an extra room, what we used to call the Florida room, but Phillip has decided to turn it into a musicians studio. (How fantastic. I mean, think about it. It could have been a dumb “man cave” where he played video games all day. No! He wants to create things, not kill things!)

The man wanted to make music, play, have fun, enjoy the creative process….and was kind enough to make me a part of his art 🙂 I got to be a muse!

So, we just played for a moment. My speaking for a moment while he played with his Gugin. Ha! Trying not to make it sound dirty. No, no innuendo here 😉

We decided not to edit the piece, but leave it as is. You can hear us trying to figure out software, layered tracks, and a little bit of both of us being a bitch for a minute. It was fun. And I think it’s barely a minute long. We call our little endeavor, “Clergy.” Click here to listen.

2 comments

  1. Phillip sure likes Chinese instruments [first, the Ehru, now the Gunqin]. He’s having fun, exploring, letting off steam, relaxing making music — good for him. And, youre right there helping him. I love it – its great. He had a near scare the other week and wants to unwind. God Bless you both. Have fun.

  2. My Gugin sounds nothing like Phillips. But then again I am 77 rapidly approaching 78. Hugs Tobias…Eloy AZ

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.