The Residue of the Storm

I can’t believe it has been one week since the storm made its arrival. What a very long week it has been. Life is slowly heading back to normal. Publix is finally fully stocked, traffic lights are working, and most of the city has power again. There is still this lingering exhaustion in the air. Everyone is simply TIRED. And they have every right to be. I applied for disaster assistance, but I was declined. The minimum power outage required for assistance is 5 days, while we were only without power for 3. But, that’s fine. I know there are going to be a swarm of people needing those funds much more than we will just rebuild their homes.

So, Phillip and I have been doing double duty knitting and crocheting, coming up with new ideas and new things to play with. I did a possum and a hound dog for the yarn truck (what pick up truck doesn’t have a hound dog?) Phillip did another Strange Friend, but is also now doing Strange Friend hats. I know, right? They’re brilliant. Outlandish. Like headdresses. You can find all those in our shop. He’s also been applying for any and every job he can find. Dish washing, flipping burgers, what ever he can find, even if its only part time, its a step in the right direction towards getting us financially back on track. The yarn truck is fine, but waiting a week or two to build more inventory before we head out again. I’m also working on a blog post that I’ll put up in a day or two, something I eluded to in my last one: about what I learned in the 2am silence the morning after the storm, knitting by candlelight. I think you’ll be surprised.

You have to remain optimistic in times like these. Optimism breeds enthusiasm and the energy needed to leap over hurdles. Hopelessness breeds depression and dismay….and nothing will get done.

Its Saturday night. I always look forward to Saturday night. Its our movie night. We really could use that. It’s been a long week, so I’m insistent that we watch a comedy 🙂 Take a long hot bath and read some Calvin and Hobbes, make some dinner for us, and finally plop on the couch in my comfie knit socks and refresh, allowing laughter and comfort to wash off the residue of the storm.

If you appreciate the writing in this blog, please feel free to donate. Every dollar helps and we certainly do appreciate it!

One comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.