All The Poison is Gone

Well….I haven’t written in a while. There has been a part of me that just wanted to be quiet. The monk in me just wanted to trudge. But, you’re probably wanting to know what my life is like now. After all, that’s why you came here to read this. You want to know what my life is like right now. You want to read about my life, while I’m doing my best to work through it. But, this is the agreement we decided upon isn’t it? I write about my madness….and you read about it.

So, what is my life like now?

To be honest, it’s beautiful.

I had all of my back teeth extracted just a few days ago. Didn’t even need an aspirin after the novicane wore off. A week after the surgery there was no pain, no dry socket. No pain. The hardest part of the journey was the anticipation of pain. I was, for sure, ready to squeal and scream, because that’s what you do, right? You flinch….

No such madness. It took less then five minutes to pull the rot out of my head.

And I have never felt better. Friends have come round to check on me. And I’ll take a moment to boast and say each and every one of them took a moment to say, “You look amazing. You look…wow.”

I’ll take another moment to boast 🙂 I feel fantastic and it shows. I feel wonderful.

My freckles are vibrant. My shaved head shimmers a hue akin to red. My smile has the hint knowing buddha has his had on my shoulder. Jesus hugs me and says, “You’re good!”

I have calmed. I have surrendered to aging, wisdom….and knowing I know nothing.

Then this arrived in the mail today. Something of a small alter to the Blessed Mother, with beautiful burned carvings on all sides. Apparently, it was my grandmother’s, although I don’t ever recall her being a religious, nor even spiritual person. She was too pragmatic for all that. But, here it is, sent to me via my mother and my aunt. There was no question about it: this belongs to Gregory. I have stared at it, prayed before it, admired it in the few short hours that I’ve had it. I adore it.

All the poison is gone. I feel like myself again.

9 comments

  1. Merry Christmas and a wonderful, healthy and happy 2024. You shine!
    I purchased some samples of your fabric from Spoonflower and impressed my friends with how beautiful your designs are! Hopefully, they follow through with purchases of their own.

  2. Oh Gregory! I am so happy for you and glad that you are feeling so much better. Your happiness shines through your words. Have a Merry and Blessed Christmas!

  3. The words I’ve longed to read. Thanks for sharing ~ I am grateful that you are feeling like… wow!
    And that is a beautiful gift from your mum and aunt. It’s amazing!
    Blessings for a Merry Christmas ~

  4. Dear Gregory, I am so happy to hear this! You sound bright and clear and “raring to go”, as my mum would have put it. You rock! Happy New Year!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.