Knit For Yourself Tonight

The post office has put their foot down! Nothing I send will arrive before Christmas, not if shipped now. It’s alright. No need to panic. I got my orders out on time, today being the last day that anyone wanting a teddy bear would have him by Christmas.

I didn’t pressure myself this year. I didn’t break myself with the mistake of trying to over do things. No, I didn’t wreck myself with knitting needles clacking over and over, desperately trying to knit and sell teddy bears.

I made a few bears, they sold, they’re off to good homes. I asked each of them (as I tucked them in their packages) to “make someone happy. That’s all I ask of you, little bear. Make someone smile.”

So, with the rush and the push of the Christmas shipping season behind me, I’m able to knit for myself tonight. My friend Kara found at the thrift store some beautiful hand spun, hand died, Peruvian alpaca. Well, it’s going to be 45 degrees in a few days, so I thought I’d spend the evening knitting a scarf and matching fingerless gloves, all perfect colors for my vintage pea coat. Being an agoraphobic I don’t leave Honeychurch much, but when I do, I like to think I look…..stylish to some degree. It gives me a little confidence.

So, tonight I knit for myself. I’ll sip a little hot coco with a splash of whiskey and watch the Rankin Bass classics. Hope you will be doing the same! Sounds like gorgeous fun. The Christmas rush is such a fuss but, be kind to yourself, gift yourself, knit for yourself tonight 🙂

One comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.